Physical Culture

A Long Overdue Update!

It has been months since I last checked in, and I apologize!  Lately I’ve been so involved in exploring new training directions that I have been in full-on “learn” mode and less in a “share” mode.

I’ve always found it very hard to put on muscle mass (although I did have my fat phase, which is interesting…just how bad must my diet have been back then?) so its a unique challenge to force my body to pack on mass.

When last I posted, I was just beginning an experiment with the I, Bodybuilder program.  After sticking with it for roughly two months, I didn’t really gain any appreciable mass.  I decided the low-rep high weight route may not be what my body responded too, and indeed, when I switched back to a high volume routine I immediately began to put on a bit of mass.  However, my gains again ground to a halt, and I know believe I simply wasn’t eating enough.  Exercise is a science experiment…you play with variables and see what it nets you.  If you think you’re eating enough, but you aren’t gaining weight, then clearly you aren’t, no matter how much you are eating.

Lately I’ve taken to multiplying my bodyweight by 20 and eating roughly that amount.  This is a challenge when eating Paleo/Primal, but doable.  The trick is to eat several small meals.   Also, I allow dairy products.  Eating roughly 2800 calories a day, getting adequate sleep, balancing recovery, and training hard has allowed me to climb to 144.5 lbs, and I think the gains will continue right up to 150.

Me @ roughly 144.5

After a solid week off from working out, I’m back in the gym and giving Kevin English’s periodization layout a try (the C.A.M.P. System).  I’m adopting his split and the mesocycles listed in the article, but I’m doing my own program, my style.

Today I performed the following for Chest and Delts:

  • Tuck Planche – Aggregate of 1 minute (however many sets it takes to do a full 1 minute in position)
  • Flat Bench – 5 x 3-5 reps
  • Chest Press Machine – 5 x 3-5 reps
  • Seated Military Press – 5 x 3-5 reps
  • Upright Row – 5 x 3-5 reps
  • Hammer Strength Shoulder Press – 5 x 3-5 reps
  • Leg Lifts – 5 x 3-5 reps

I went very heavy and took 2 to 3 minutes between sets to rest.  Following the C.A.M.P. system, I’ll finish this week out using this rep/weight scheme for only one week before a more moderate weight for 2 weeks and then a last week of drop sets, super sets, forced reps, et al.  Stay tuned, I’ll be logging my workouts for the full week.

Leave a Reply

